Connect with us


14 teams to jostle for medals in NSF’s basketball event



Teams from 14 states will be competing for the basketball medals at the 20th National Sports Festival (NSF) when the event gets underway Tuesday at the Emotan College in Benin.

Seven teams each will be in the draws for the men and women categories, according to Afolabi Oni, the Media Coordinator of Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF).

Oni, in a statement on Monday in Lagos, said the competition’s male category will have hosts Edo as well as Rivers (South-South), Yobe (North-East) and Kano (North-West).

The others are Kwara (North-Central), Lagos (South-West) and Imo (South-East).

Reports said that the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) team won the last edition of the festival after beating Gombe State in the final.

In the female event, Borno (North-East), Kano (North-West), Bayelsa (South-South) Nassarawa (North-Central), Lagos (South-West), Imo (South-East) and hosts Edo will be competing.

The competition’s fixtures will be drawn during the Technical/Pre-Match meeting scheduled for Tuesday.

The NBBF spokesperson also disclosed that, in a capacity-building drive, the federation would also be organising a clinic and training for the competition’s Referees and Table/Technical officials.

The training will be conducted by Kingsley Ojeaburu, Opeyemi Ogunleye and other FIBA referees present at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium’s Tennis Boardroom on Tuesday.


He reminds me of Lampard – Evra hails Man Utd midfielder






Former Manchester United vice-captain, Patrice Evra has hailed midfielder Scott McTominay for his impressive display against Chelsea on Wednesday.

Evra said that McTominay reminds him of Chelsea legend Frank Lampard, adding that the Scotland international always performs in big matches.

McTominay scored a brace as Man United defeated Chelsea 2-1 in Wednesday’s Premier League tie at Old Trafford.

His brace against Mauricio Pochettino’s side was his sixth goal this season in all competitions for the Red Devils so far.

He is Man United’s top scorer for the season so far and Evra is impressed with him.

“McTominay is always there when it is an important game scoring goals,” Evra told Amazon Prime.

“He reminds me a bit of Frank Lampard. He is doing this for United and the Scottish national team so very well done.

“He could have scored four. After the game he was a little bit disappointed. He had so many chances, he is always in the right place and always running into the box, this is why he reminds me of of Lampard tonight.”

Continue Reading


CAF Awards 2023: Nnadozie, Abiodun, Super Falcons among final top three nominees




Chiamaka Nnadozie has made the final shortlist for the 2023 CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year.

Nnadozie was outstanding for Nigeria at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

The shot stopper also played a crucial role in her club, FC Paris’ maiden appearance in the group stage of the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

South Africa’s Andile Dlamini and Morocco’s Khadija Er-Rmichi are the other goalies nominated for the award.

In the Women’s Young Player of the Year category, Deborah Abiodun will slug it out with Comfort Yeboah (Ghana) and Nesryne El Chad (Morocco).

Nigeria was among the final three nominees in the Women’s National Team of the Year category.

Continue Reading


CAF Awards 2023: Oshoala makes final shortlist for Women’s Player of the Year




Asisat Oshoala remains on course to win a record-extending sixth CAF Women’s Player of the Year award, newsmen reports.

Oshoala was among the three players who made the final shortlist for the Women’s Player of the Year award, as announced by the Confederation of African Football on Thursday.

The Barcelona Femeni star became the first woman to claim the award for a record fifth time in 2022.

The 27-year-old played a key role in Barcelona Femeni’s UEFA Women’s Champions League success last season.

South Africa’s Thembi Klagtlana and Zambia’s Barbara Banda are the other players in contention for the award.

Klagtlana, who plays for the American side Racing Louisville Football Club, won the award in 2018.

The winner will be revealed at the CAF Awards Gala on Monday, December 11, 2023, at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Continue Reading