Kwara reconstitutes NSSF in conformity with nationally-backed new structure – Ministry


The Kwara chapter of the Nigeria School Sports Federation (NSSF) was, on Friday, reconstituted and inaugurated, in line with the new structure approved by the national body, the state ministry of education has announced.

The body was constituted in line with the Constitution of the NSSF, which provides for state chapters headed by a Chairman, for effective administration of NSSF-organised competitions and school sports events at state level.

At the inauguration of the state NSSF, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development, Mrs Mary Adeosun, charged the body to work hard and let its impact be positively felt.

Adeosun, who was represented by the Director of School Services, Mrs Ade Aboyeji, expressed optimism that the new structure would move forward school sports in the state.

Based on the new structure, the state NSSF will now have the Commissioner for Education and Human Capital Development and that of Sports and Youth Development as Patrons, as well as the Special Assistant on Sports and Youth Development, the Executive Chairman, Sports Council/Commission and Executive Chairman, State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB).

Members of the state NSSF shall include representatives of All Nigeria Conference of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), Association of Primary School Head-Teachers of Nigeria (AOPSHON), State Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development.

Others are State School Management Board, State SUBEB, State Sports Council, Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, National Association of Physical, Health Education and Recreation, Sports and Dance (NAPHER-SD), Physical Education teachers and the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN).

After the inauguration, Mallam Zubair Rafiu of AOPSHON was selected as Vice Chairman, Yahaya Adua of  the Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM) as the Public Relations Officer, and Ahmed Adebayo of the Sports Council as the Technical Director, also in line with the Constitution.

Other members of the Kwara NSSF are: Mallam Bakare Salami as the Coordinator/Secretary, Mallam Fatai Musa, Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development, Mrs Olaide Olanrewaju (SUBEB), Mr Idowu Ayodeji, Ministry of Sports and Youth Development.

The new officers also include Mrs Abimbola Olaoye (ANCOPSS), Mr Mohammed Usman (NAPHER-SD), Mallam Yusuf Sulaiman from the Association of Schools Sports Officers (ASSPO), and Jimoh Bashir from the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN).

A seven-man committee was also constituted to draw a roadmap for the NSSF in the state. The committee comprise Mrs Olaide Olanrewaju, Mrs Abimbola Olaoye, Mr Mohammed Usman, Mallam Zubair Rafiu, Jimoh Bashir, Yahaya Adua and Idowu Ayodeji, as members.