Edo Assembly confirms 15 commissioners


The Edo State House of Assembly on Thursday passed four bills and confirmed civil commissioners at its valedictory session, marking the end of the state’s seventh assembly in Benin.

The four bills include A Bill for a Law to Make Provision for the Emolument of Elected Political Officers and Public Officers 2023, A Bill for a Law to Provide for the Pension Rights of the Governor and the Deputy Governor 2023, A Bill for a Law to Provide for Sanitation, Pollution, and Waste Management, and A Bill to Establish the Unified Local Government Agency.

The House also amended and adopted new rules, which threw up some controversies before their adoption.

The Speaker of the House, Marcus Onobun, had earlier called on the members representing Esan North East I and Esan South East, Francis Okiye and Sunny Ojiezele, respectively, to second the adoption of the motion.

But the two lawmakers declined, saying that they had no idea of the content of the new house rules.

Also in plenary, the House confirmed 15 civil commissioners in the state. Those confirmed are Christopher Nehikhare, Monday Osaigbovo, Isoken Omo, Joan Oviawe, Ethan Uzamere, Stephen Idehenre, Oluwole Osaze-Uzzi and Patrick Unaseru.

Others are Samuel Alli, Adeze Aguele-Kalu, Kingsley Uwagbale, Uyi Oduwa Malaka, Joshua Omokhodion, Ojeifoh Enaholo, and Christabel Omo Ekwu.

The House also approved the request of Governor Godwin Obaseki to obtain a N3.5 billion contract and an asset finance auto-loan facility.

According to the governor, N2 billion will be used for the procurement of hospital equipment for Stella Obasanjo Hospital, while N1.5 billion will be used to procure vehicles for the 24 incoming legislators and the state’s chief judge.

Thereafter, Speaker Marcus Onobun opened the floor as he thanked his colleagues and staff of the assembly for their support over the years.

Onobun stated in his valedictory speech that the Seventh Assembly passed 54 bills (48 of which were assented to) and 118 resolutions.

“The turbulence that characterised the inauguration of the Seventh Assembly made us heroes of democracy, having done the job of 24 members,” he said, thanking his constituency, the governor, and the people of Edo for the privilege to serve.

House Deputy Speaker Roland Asoro (PDP, Orhiomwon South) also thanked his constituency and the governor for fostering an enabling environment for the House to function.