Connect with us


2023: Arewa Community flanks around Tinubu, Sanwo-Olu in Lagos



The All Progressives Congress (APC), presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola  Tinubu and Governor of Lagos State, Mr Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu, have been endorsed by the Arewa community in Lagos.

The event which was held at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena in Onikan, on Sunday, witnessed representatives from all Northern States in Nigeria, who came to endorse the Asíwájú candidacy, and offer solidarity support for the re-election of Lagos State governor.

Speaking at the event, the APC presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu said he was going to fulfill his electoral promises for the people of Nigeria.

The former governor of Lagos State and national leader of APC, cited security, infrastructural projects and unity of the country as some of the projects and advocacy for his government if elected at the February 25, 2023 polls.

“I will honour all my pledges that we all will live in harmony. We belong in each other’s heart,” he said.

The APC presidential candidate Asíwájú, in his prepared speech, also cited some infrastructural projects such as the Manilla Power Projects and Kolmani Oil Wells Project, among others.

This he said his government was going to fulfill after APC victory at next month’s presidential election.

Corroborating the position of Tinubu, the Lagos head of directorate for ethnic groups at the Presidential and Governorship campaign council, Hon. Fatai Adekunle Ayoola, said Asíwájú is a unifier and the missing link to a greater and better Nigeria.

“We needed a leader with efficient knowledge and competence in moving Nigeria forward, Asíwájú is the right choice and we are committed towards his landslide victory,” he said.

Ayoola, who is the executive chairman in Ajeromi-Ifelodun local government, commended the efforts of Alhaji Saadu Yusuf Gulma Dandare, Chairman of Arewa  Community, APC, for ensuring the massive turnout for Tinubu at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena.

“We will continue to give our other tribes in Lagos that sense of assurance and demonstrate our  committment  to making them participate and deliver for our common goals in APC,” Ayoola added.


APC declares Ondo primary inconclusive



The All Progressives Congress 2024 Governorship Primary Committee in Ondo State has declared the Saturday primary inconclusive.

This is contained in a statement by the Chairman of the Committee, Gov. Usman Ododo on Sunday morning.

The statement said that rerun election would take place in all the 13 wards of Okitipupa Local Government with total validated registered party members of 9,515.

“Having received reports of the primary election from the 203 Wards in the 18 Local Governments of Ondo State, the Primary Election Committee has decided that election will be conducted in all the 13 Wards of Okitipupa Local Government with total validated registered members of 9,515.

“ We have validated reports that the exercise did not hold in the local government due to late arrival of electoral materials and personnel as a result of logistics challenges.

“Election in Okitipupa Local Government shall be conducted 12 noon on Sunday 21st April 2024.

“The final collation of the results will be done thereafter”, the statement said.

Continue Reading


Over 1,000 Kano APC members defect to NNPP



Over 1,000 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kano State decamped to the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) on Saturday.

The decampees, from Shanono and Bagwai local government areas, were formally received by the Deputy Governor, Aminu Abdussalam Gwarzo on behalf of Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf at the Kano State Government House.

A press release by the Deputy Governor’s spokesperson, Ibrahim Garba Shuaibu stated Gwarzo’s delight in welcoming the defectors.

He emphasized that the NNPP prioritized unity and that all members will be treated equally.

According to Garba, Gwarzo reiterated the administration’s commitment to implementing programs that would benefit all the people of Kano State and urged continued support from residents for the state’s progress.

Speaking earlier, Alhaji Haruna Babangida Abbas (Kosashe), leader of the defectors, cited Governor Abba’s leadership qualities and governance style as reasons for their move.

He expressed regret for their past APC affiliation and pledged their dedication to working with the NNPP for Kano’s betterment.

Also Speaking, Kano NNPP Chairman, Alhaji Hashimu Dungurawa welcomed the new members and assured their involvement in the party’s activities.

He encouraged members of other parties, including the APC, to join the NNPP for the state’s advancement.

Dungurawa also urged support for the government’s policies.

The event was attended by prominent figures, like the Kano State Commissioner for Budget and Planning, Alhaji Musa Suleiman Shanono, and several NNPP stakeholders who celebrated the influx of new members.

Continue Reading


Ondo APC Primary: 171,922 accredited members to vote, says committee



The committee to supervise the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary in Ondo state, on Friday, said a total of 171,922 accredited members would vote on Saturday.

The primary is scheduled to hold in 203 wards in 18 local government areas with 16 aspirants including the governor, Mr Lucky Aiyedatiwa, contesting.

Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege, the Secretary of the seven-man committee, stated this after its meeting with stakeholders and aspirants on Friday night in Akure .

He said that none of the aspirants had before the eve of the exercise withdrawn or stepped down for another candidate.

The secretary said that the committee was ready to conduct the primary using  the direct mode in all the 203 wards across the state.

He appealed to the aspirants to caution their supporters to allow the peaceful conduct of the primary for the progress of the party.

Omo-Agege assured of the committee’s resolve to strictly follow the guidelines and constitution of the party and conduct a transparent, fair and credible election.

He said that the committee would collaborate with the security agencies in the state to forestall breakdown of law and order before, during and after the primary.

The committee is headed by Gov. Usman Adodo of Kogi.

Continue Reading