Tambuwal, Baru others confirm participation in NewsDirect lecture, awards


By Ayo Fadimu

Sokoto State Governor, Alhaji Aminu Tambuwal and the Group Managing Director of Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Dr Maikanti Baru have confirmed participation in the 7th edition of Nigerian NewsDirect award and MAN of the Year ceremony to take place at Grandball hall of the prestigious Eko Hotels and Suites in Lagos on Saturday, March 3rd,2018.

Tambuwal, who was the Speaker of the 7th House of Representatives before his present position as the Sokoto State governor  is to be honoured with the award of the NewsDirect Personality of the Year while Baru is the Nigerian NewsDirect MAN of the Year due to his uncommon revolutionary, transparent and efficient system  brought to governance in NNPC and also ensured delivery of petroleum products to all parts of Nigeria despite the unpatriotic act of some powerful cabals who deliberately want to frustrate the government of President Muhammadu Buhari by bringing untold hardship on Nigerians.

The Guest Speaker at the event which will be televised live on Channels TV and livestream for viewers all over the world is the Chairman of International Energy, Dr Diran Fawibe.

Other awardees in the night include  Governor Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos State, Governor of Central Bank, Godwin Emefiele, Group  Managing Director of Access Bank Plc, Herbert Wigwe, Zenith Bank Plc, Chairman, HouseCommittee on Rural Development, Hon Oladipupo Adebutu, Chairman BUA Group Alhaji Abdulsamad Rabiu, Chief Alex Duduyemi, Niger Delta Power Holding Company, Ibadan Disco, Eko Disco and Bovas Petroleum among others.

The theme of this year event is “Challenges and impacts of infrastructure and security on revenue diversification, energy supply and foreign exchange earnings in a developing economy”.

The Publisher of Nigerian NewsDirect, Dr Samuel Ibiyemi said the annual lecture and award ceremony is aimed at discussing and find lasting solutions to challenges confronting the country and her people and also to recognize those who have contributed to the development of the socio-economic development of the country.