Ogun govt  pays over N10bn to teachers, others within six months


Ogun State Government says it has paid a sum of N10.6Bn as salaries to over 11,000 teachers and 1,607 to non teaching staff in State owned secondary schools across the State between January and June this year.

The Permanent Secretary in the State Teaching Service Commission, Mrs Mojisola Dosunmu, stated this while reeling out the achievements of the Commission before members of the State House of Assembly Committee on Education, Science and Technology led by Hon. Adeyemi Ademuyiwa, during the ongoing 2019 budget performance appraisal to the Commission Office at Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

Dosunmu explained that the commission which was saddled with the responsibility of enhancing qualitative service delivery in the classroom through a robust policy as contained the the teacher’s manual, would soon commence the recruitment of more teachers in secondary schools with a view to improving its manpower for the teaching of key subjects, particularly science related ones.

The Permanent Secretary assured that more administrative measures would be put in place to  maintain discipline and cordial relationship among teaching and non teaching staff in public schools, including effective training of personnel to enhance quality service delivery in the classroom.

She disclosed that teachers in 28 community based schools had been absorbed by the State government into the public secondary schools.

Responding, the Chairman,  House Committee on Education, Science and Technology,, Hon Ademuyiwa Adeyemi, in company of Honourables Adeyanju Adegoke,  Solomon Osho, Wahab Haruna and Abayomi Fasunwa commended the commission for upholding transparency and accountability in its budgetary estimate, with a charge  to them to devise more strategies towards improving the quality of education in the State.

The Commitee also appraised the budget performance of the  State Library Board and Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta.