North East Development Commission: Buhari appoints 12 new members to governing board



President Muhammadu Buhari has made twelve fresh appointments to the North East Development Commission, NEDC.

The President on Tuesday asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of 12 nominees who would serve as members of the Governing Board of the NEDC.

According to the President, Bashir Bukar Baale from Yobe State, North East, will serve as the Chairman.

Suwaiba Idris Baba from Taraba, North East was appointed as the Executive Director, Humanitarian Affairs.

Also from Bauchi State, North East is the Executive Director, Administration and Finance, Musa Umar Yashi.

Dr Ismaila Nuhu Maksha, who hails from Adamawa State, North East, will work as the Executive Director, Operations while Umar Abubakar Hashidu from Gombe State will serve as MD/CEO.

Members of the Governing body include Grema Ali from Borno State North East; Onyeka Gospel-Tony from South East, Hailmary Ogolo Aipoh from South-South, Air Commodore Babatunde Akanbi (rtd), member appointed from the South West, Mustapha Ahmed Ibrahim from the North West, Hadiza Maina from North Central and a representative from the Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning.

Buhari sought confirmation of the appointees in a letter addressed to the President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, dated May 3, 2023.

A statement signed by Garba Shehu, the President’s spokesman, reminded the Senate that the tenure of the current Governing Board of NEDC will end on 7th May, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Exit mobile version