INEC bows to pressure, releases more Rivers rerun results


By Ehime Alex

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC Tuesday evening released five results from the March 19 Rivers state national and state assembly rerun elections.

The INEC’s Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC Aniedi Ikoiwak, at the Commission’s head office in Port Harcourt, Rivers state announced the additional results released on three Federal and two State Constituency seats.

According to him, the Peoples Democratic Party’s candidates cleared the three federal seats:Port Harcourt Federal Constituency 1, Kenneth Chikere (PDP) won by polling 18,904 votes, to defeat his APC’s close rival, Igo Aguma, who scored 6,035 votes; Port Harcourt Federal Constituency 2, Blessing Nsiegbe (PDP) scored 6,968 votes to defeat Collins Owhondah (APC), who polled 3,154 votes; Obio/Akpor Federal Constituency, Kingsley Chinda (PDP) scored 27,895 votes, to defeat APC candidate, Anthony Okocha, who got 9,514 votes.

While APC candidate, Benibo Anabraba, won the State Constituency seat for Akuku-Toru 2 with 2,970 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Tonye Alalibo, who was however disqualified by the electoral body.

Adoki Smart of PDP, for Port Harcourt Constituency 2 scored 15,244 votes, to beat Mrs. Irene Inimgba of APC, who polled 2,844 votes.

The results that have been announced so far showed that, the PDP has won 13 seats, while APC has won two seats.

It was gathered that the Commission has said in a statement signed by its REC chairman that it will made public in due course details of its investigation on the rerun debacle.

Ikoiwak however added that the five results released were the outcome of the INEC’s meeting in Abuja.