Edo Assembly Speaker Okiye impeached, as Marcus Ono bun emerges new Speaker


By Eunice Odigie, Benin City

The Edo State House of Assembly, on Monday impeached its Speaker, Mr. Frank Okiye and elected Mr Marcus Onobun, the member representing Esan West Constituency in his place as the new Speaker.

Nine out of the 10 legislators signed Okiye’s impeachment during Monday’s plenary with deputy speaker, Roland Asoro presiding.

The impeachment of Frank Okiye followed a motion moved by the leader of the House,  Henry Okhuarobo and seconded by the member representing Akoko-Edo one in the Assembly, Prince Yekini Idaiye.

Thereafter, the member representing Igueben state constituency,  Ephraim Aluebhosele moved a motion to nominate Marcus Onobun as the new speaker and it was seconded by the member representing Akoko-Edo two state constituency,  Emmanuel Agbaje.

The Deputy Speaker, Mr Roland Asoro who presided over the plenary after the impeachment put the motion to a voice vote where it enjoyed the support of all the members at plenary.

The new speaker, Mr Marcus Onobun upon his election, thanked the members for the confidence reposed in him as the new speaker of Edo State House of Assembly.

Speaker Marcus Onobun  thereafter dissolved all the house standing committees while also relieving all the appointees of the house of their appointments.

Mr Onobun also constituted a three man committee to look into financial records of the house under the leadership of the former speaker and also placed the former speaker on a three month’s suspension to allow for a peaceful transition.

The ground of Okiye’s impeachment was based on alleged financial misappropriation, among other offences.