Connect with us


Delta Gov Poll: S’Court reserves verdict on Omo-Agege, Gbaji, Pela’s appeals



The Supreme Court, on Tuesday, reserved its judgement on three separate appeals that seek to nullify the election of Governor Sheriff Oborevwori of Delta State.

The appeals were brought before the court by the candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in the governorship poll that was held in the State on March 18, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, as well as candidates of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), and the Labour Party (LP), Mr. Kenneth Gbaji and Ken Pela, respectively.

A five-member panel of the apex court, led by Justice Inyang Okoro, okayed the appeals for judgment, after all the parties adopted their final briefs of argument.

Specifically, the appellants, through their respective counsel, urged the Supreme Court to invalidate the November 24 judgement of the Court of Appeal in Lagos State, which dismissed their case for want of merit and affirmed Oborevwori of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the bona fide winner of the governorship contest.

They equally faulted an earlier judgement of the Delta State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Asaba, which on September 29, affirmed Oborevwori’s election.

Omo-Agege, who is the immediate past Deputy President of the Senate, contended that the election was not conducted in substantial compliance with provisions of the Electoral Act.

For instance, he told the apex court that the results of the governorship election were not properly recorded at some polling units, adding that the forms that contained some of the recorded results did not have serial numbers.

While the SDP candidate, Gbagi, prayed the court to declare that Governor Oborevwori was not eligible to contest the election, his counterpart in the LP, Pela, urged the Supreme Court to nullify the entire election and declare a fresh one.

The apex court panel said it would communicate the judgement date to all the parties.

It will be recalled that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared that Oborevwori of the PDP polled 360,234 votes to win the governorship election ahead of Omo-Agege of the APC, who secured 240,229 votes.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


APC declares Ondo primary inconclusive



The All Progressives Congress 2024 Governorship Primary Committee in Ondo State has declared the Saturday primary inconclusive.

This is contained in a statement by the Chairman of the Committee, Gov. Usman Ododo on Sunday morning.

The statement said that rerun election would take place in all the 13 wards of Okitipupa Local Government with total validated registered party members of 9,515.

“Having received reports of the primary election from the 203 Wards in the 18 Local Governments of Ondo State, the Primary Election Committee has decided that election will be conducted in all the 13 Wards of Okitipupa Local Government with total validated registered members of 9,515.

“ We have validated reports that the exercise did not hold in the local government due to late arrival of electoral materials and personnel as a result of logistics challenges.

“Election in Okitipupa Local Government shall be conducted 12 noon on Sunday 21st April 2024.

“The final collation of the results will be done thereafter”, the statement said.

Continue Reading


Over 1,000 Kano APC members defect to NNPP



Over 1,000 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kano State decamped to the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) on Saturday.

The decampees, from Shanono and Bagwai local government areas, were formally received by the Deputy Governor, Aminu Abdussalam Gwarzo on behalf of Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf at the Kano State Government House.

A press release by the Deputy Governor’s spokesperson, Ibrahim Garba Shuaibu stated Gwarzo’s delight in welcoming the defectors.

He emphasized that the NNPP prioritized unity and that all members will be treated equally.

According to Garba, Gwarzo reiterated the administration’s commitment to implementing programs that would benefit all the people of Kano State and urged continued support from residents for the state’s progress.

Speaking earlier, Alhaji Haruna Babangida Abbas (Kosashe), leader of the defectors, cited Governor Abba’s leadership qualities and governance style as reasons for their move.

He expressed regret for their past APC affiliation and pledged their dedication to working with the NNPP for Kano’s betterment.

Also Speaking, Kano NNPP Chairman, Alhaji Hashimu Dungurawa welcomed the new members and assured their involvement in the party’s activities.

He encouraged members of other parties, including the APC, to join the NNPP for the state’s advancement.

Dungurawa also urged support for the government’s policies.

The event was attended by prominent figures, like the Kano State Commissioner for Budget and Planning, Alhaji Musa Suleiman Shanono, and several NNPP stakeholders who celebrated the influx of new members.

Continue Reading


Ondo APC Primary: 171,922 accredited members to vote, says committee



The committee to supervise the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary in Ondo state, on Friday, said a total of 171,922 accredited members would vote on Saturday.

The primary is scheduled to hold in 203 wards in 18 local government areas with 16 aspirants including the governor, Mr Lucky Aiyedatiwa, contesting.

Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege, the Secretary of the seven-man committee, stated this after its meeting with stakeholders and aspirants on Friday night in Akure .

He said that none of the aspirants had before the eve of the exercise withdrawn or stepped down for another candidate.

The secretary said that the committee was ready to conduct the primary using  the direct mode in all the 203 wards across the state.

He appealed to the aspirants to caution their supporters to allow the peaceful conduct of the primary for the progress of the party.

Omo-Agege assured of the committee’s resolve to strictly follow the guidelines and constitution of the party and conduct a transparent, fair and credible election.

He said that the committee would collaborate with the security agencies in the state to forestall breakdown of law and order before, during and after the primary.

The committee is headed by Gov. Usman Adodo of Kogi.

Continue Reading