Bauchi Assembly crisis resolved as 17 aggrieved members sworn in


By Rukayat Akanbi, Bauchi

The 17 aggrieved members of the Bauchi State House of Assembly have submitted themselves for inauguration after 42 days of legislative rift between the factional ‘speaker’ Damina Kawuwa and the speaker Abubakar Suleiman

After the power tussle that played out on Thursday June 20 when 13 of 31 members of the Assembly elected Abubakar Suleiman speaker and Ahmed Kawule his deputy, the 17 members loyal to Damina who are members of the All Progressives Congress have stayed away from the sittings since last June.

Damina camp is allegedly loyal to the immediate past Governor Mohammad Abubakar while Suleiman despite being in APC was voted by minority members of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

At the “special session” presided over by the deputy speaker Ahmed Kawule on Friday night, 17 members who have decided to embrace peace were inaugurated in addition to a member who voluntarily stepped forward last week ahead of others for inauguration before last night.

Ahmed Kawule however, charged the inaugurated members to discharge their responsibilities in accordance with the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the rules of the Assembly.

Speaking with newsmen shortly after the inauguration of the members, Governor, Senator Bala Muhammed who was at the House Complex commanded the lawmakers for accepting to be inaugurated in the interest of the state.

Governor Bala said the state government championed the peace move through “intervention of relevant stakeholders notably the traditional rulers.”

The Governor noted that, “with this development, Bauchi state has shown that it is the home of democracy in the country.”

Recall that a High Court in the state on July 18 has ordered that the National Assembly steer clear of the house over plans to take over the institution pending the determination of the motion before it on October 3.