APC Caretaker Committee in closed-door meeting with Tinubu, sets up Edo governorship campaign committee

….as PDP screens Ondo guber aspirants

By Ayo Fadimu

Members of Caretaker Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) were last night in a closed- door meeting with National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu at his residence in Bourdillon, Ikoyi.

The team led by the Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee Chairman, Governor Mai Mala Buni and Chairman of Progressive Governor’s Forum Governor Abubakar Atiku Bagudu.

Others in the entourage include the Secretary of Caretaker Committee of APC , Senator Akpan Udo-Edehe and APC Campaign Committee for Edo Election as well as Lagos Governor Babajide Sanwo-olu

In the meantime, The Caretaker committee has appointed a 49-member high-level National Campaign Council for the September 19 Edo State Governorship Election.

The council chaired by Governor of Kano State, Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje has four state governors, the Deputy Senate President and two former National Chairmen of the party among others as members and Hon. Abbas Braimoh to serve as Secretary.

Party’s Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Mr Yekini Nabena in a statement in Abuja on Thursday said the appointment of the council followed the approval of the National Chairman of the party’s Caretaker Committee, Mai Mala Buni.

He said the setting up of the council “followed the approval for the constitution of a National Campaign Council for the 19th September, 2020 Governorship Election, by the National Chairman of the APC

Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee, H.E. Mai Mala Buni.

“The campaign council will be inaugurated on Monday, 6th July 2020 at the Party’s National Secretariat.”

Other members of the committee include the Deputy Senate President, Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege, Inuwa Yahaya , Kogi State governor,  Alh. Yahaya Bello and his Lagos State counterpart,  Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Two former Chairmen of the party  (Chief) John Odigie-Oyegun and Comrade Adams Oshiomhole were also included in the committee among others

In the meantime, the Peoples Democratic Party on Thursday in Abuja screened aspirants for Ondo State governorship election ahead of the party’s primaries slated for July 22 and July 23 in the state.

The party’s aspirants include the incumbent Deputy Governor of the state, Dr. Agboola Ajayi, Mr. Eyitayo Jegede; Sen. Boluwaji Kunlere, Dr. Eddy Olafeso, Mr Ben Okunomo, Mr. Bode Ayorinde; Otunba Bamidele

Akingboye, Mr. Godday Erewa and  Mr. Sola Ebiseeni

The party had on Wednesday announced the immediate past Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rep. Yakubu Dogara, as chairman of the screening committee.

Other members of the committee are Sen. Zainab Kure, Mr. Fred Agbedi and Mr. Ndubuisi Agwuama while Rev. Bunmi Jenyo serves as secretary.

The exercise of the party’s aspirants was still in progress as at the time of filing this report.

Speaking with the newsmen Ebiseeni described the screening as free and fair.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top