OYHA extends LGs and LCDAs caretaker Chairmen’s tenure by 4 months


Yemisi Ajayi, Ibadan

Oyo State House of Assembly has extended the tenure of caretaker transition committee chairmen in the 28 Local Governments and 29 Local Council Development Areas in the state by four months.

The  lawmakers on Thursday unanimously approved the extension following a letter deliver to the House from the Executive Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi requesting for the extension of the caretaker bosses.

Out of the 33LGs and 35LCDAs, the tenure extension excludes five LGs and seven LCDAs which covers some parts of the state which are currently involved in legal tussle on boundary issues in relations to the creation of LCDAs in the state.

Reading the letter, Speaker of the House, Mr Michael Adeyemo said, the Governor in the letter had stated that the extension of tenure became imperative due to the adjournment of the court case on creation of some Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs which was adjourned to October this year.

Governor Ajimobi had appointed the Caretaker Chairmen whose tenure expires, today (Friday) in March this year.

The Speaker however also added that the house is still expecting from the executive, the replacement of three names of caretaker nominees disqualified by the honourable members.

He told the lawmakers that the House cannot stampede the executive to present the names because they don’t have legal right to do so.

Speaking after the plenary, the chairman committee on Local government and Chieftaincy, Hon. Badmus Bolaji said the extension is necessary so as not to create vacuum in the administration of the local council.

He added that the relationship between the committee and people at the grassroot is cordial to enhance enviable development.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here