Ondo Assembly gets Principal Officers, Standing Committees


Ondo State House of Assembly, Wednesday elected the principal officers of the legislative house.

Besides, names of its standing committees were read to the house by the Speaker, Hon. Bamidele Oleyelogun.

The Speaker who represents Ifedore Constituency and his Deputy, Iroju Ogundeji from Odigbo Constituency 1 were elected on April 3.

The elected officers were Majority leader, Olugbenga Araoyinbo, Chief Whip, Olusola Feyide, Deputy Majority Leader, Segun Ajimotokan, Parliamentary Secretary, Suileman Maito, Whip, Akintimehin Isaiah, Minority Leader, Sola Ebiwonjumi, and Akindiose Olusiji, Minority Whip.

The Speaker admonished all members to see the assignments as opportunities to serve the State as a window of chance to improve the well-being of the common man.

This according to him was to emancipate the economic strength of the state by contributing to a strong drive of its Internal Generated Revenue (IGR).

Oleyelogun charged new House Leaders to exhibit fair play and display maturity in discharging their assigned duties.

He said; “Every member should embrace the spirit of oneness and ensure that bureaucratic sanitation, proper transparency, accountability and due process is re -activated into the Civil Service like in the olden days.

“This especially is by encouraging the good plans and aspirations of Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu”.

The speaker urged the committee members to see themselves as Check and Balance Agent and legislative guide to Civil Servants.

He also pleaded that all government resources must be judiciously harnessed, noting that there is a reduction in the time- lag of executing government projects.

The lawmaker reiterated that there may be more jobs for members as legislatures, but should maximize this opportunity to perform their oversight functions with their competence and experience.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here