Buhari reiterates government’s commitment to infrastructure development


….as NSE tasks FG on collaboration

….Confers Fellowship on 32 members

By Inemesit Pius, Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari has reiterated the present Administration’s commitment towards massive infrastructure development in the country, saying that the Executive Order No 5 issued earlier this year is to ensure that Nigerians benefit from the various completed and on-going investments in infrastructure across the country.

The President, who was represented by the Minister for Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Babtunde Raji Fashola, stated this at the 60th Anniversary Colloquium of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) with the theme: “Re- Engineering the Engineers for Optimum National Economic Growth and Development”, held weekend at the NAF Conference Centre and Suites, Abuja.

Fashola disclosed that the policy of infrastructure development embarked upon by the present Administration will bring about a total diversification of “our economy away from oil dependence and open new opportunities for prosperity to Nigerians”. He further explained that the Executive Order No 5 on local content is a step towards ensuring that, in the short term, the economic benefits of these investments in infrastructure are maximized for the benefits of Nigerians.

Fashola noted that massive projects like the Kano-Maiduguri dualisation, the Enugu-Port Harcourt expressway, the East – West road, Lagos- Ibadan expressway, the Benin- Okene- Lokoja dualisation, the 2nd Niger Bridge, the Bodo- Bonny highway, and the Mambilla Hydro Power will form the foundation for building the country’s prosperity.

He said “these projects and many others like our rail projects from Lagos – Kano, Port Harcourt to Maiduguri and Air and Sea Ports at various stages of completion will form the foundation for building our household of prosperity.”

The Minister revealed that a snap audit of 77 works construction sites and 50 housing sites was conducted to ascertain the number of foreigners employed on those sites which showed that more Nigerians are employed on these sites.

Earlier, the President of NSE, Engineer Adekunle Olumuyiwa Mokuolu, in his welcome address, disclosed that the association which was founded in 1958 by young and vibrant Nigerian engineers to build a cohesive organisation for recognition of their professional expertise. He noted that the tenacity of the founding fathers has not faltered.

He further noted that NSE has become “a veritable platform for true professional development of engineers and the vehicle for driving the technological advancement of our country”.

Presentations of “Diamond Jubilee Awards,” an appreciation award, were presented by the Minister, on behalf of the NSE, to some past presidents of the Society for their commitment.

During the colloquium Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) called on the Federal Government for greater collaboration with the NSE to ensure that the government’s infrastructure projects and contracts awarded to engineering firms in Nigeria are not only executed but also executed within all acceptable professional engineering standards.

The NSE President Engr Adekunle Mokuolu gave the charge on Friday during its 60th anniversary colloquium attended by the Minister of Power, Works and Housing Mr Babatunde Fashola, tagged: “Re-engineering the Engineers for Optimum National Economic Growth and Development”, held at the Nigerian Air Force Conference Centre, Abuja.

The colloquium saw the coming together of experts in the engineering field- among them is the President of NSE, Engr. Adekunle O. Mokuolu, and Engr. Hillary Ijeoma Owamah, of the Department of Civil Engineering, Delta State University, Abraka, as well as some officials of the government, including the minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Babatunde Fashola.

Among the major highlights of the occasion was the presentation of awards of excellence service to past presidents of NSE, including Engr.(Dr.) F. A. Shonigi, who served from 1991 to 1992; Engr. (Dr.) Olusegun Ajayi (1995); Engr. (Dr.) Emeka Eze (2006-2007); Engr. Kashim A. Ali (2007-2009), Engr Olumuyiwa Ajibola and Engr Ademola Olorunfemi ( 2014-2015)

The list of those who bagged Fellowship includes  Special Adviser to Osun State Governor on Water Resources Engr ( Mrs) Tawakalitu Amope Williams, Engr Nanna Ukaegbu, Engr Eddy Atumonyogo, Engr Andrew Ajinde Omomehin, Engr Akeem Hardix Oguntade, Engr ( Sir) Obong ETimothy Abak, Engr Marcel A. Ifejiofor, Engr Bob Nwazota,

Engr Daniel Orduega Akaalian, Engr Farouk Ahmed Umar of National Airspace Management, Prof Emmanuel Osikhuemeh Aluyor, Engr Dr. Ismailia Mohammed Amodu.,

Engr Moses Tari Ali, Engr Ewhubare Benedict Ejeje Aloku,Engr Augustine Amodu, Engr Ansa Archibong, Engr Edward Obioma Atumonyogo, Engr Adeyinka Ademiluyi Ayileka of IBEDC,Engr Obi Sylvanus Emegoakor, Engr Adebayo Oladunjoye Falekulo,Engr Joseph Adewoye Haastrup, Engr Oko Ibiam, Engr Ukaobasi Kanno, Engr Abdu Bello Mohammed,

Engr ( Chief) Blessing Tega Oboh,Engr Chukwudi Oliver Okparaojiako, Engr Eugene Uchenna Onyeji, Engr Dr Edwin Chika Oriaku, Engr Festus Omoniyi Osundina, Engr Prof Okorie Austine Uchegbusi Uche, Engr Jerry-Gaultney Ejovwokoghene Udjo and Engr Jimoh Adekunle Yusuf.

On behalf of the recipient of the Fellowship awardees, Engr Mrs Amope William expressed their appreciation for the worthy recognition of their contributions to engineering profession in Nigeria. She assured NSE of increasing their contributions to the uplift of engineering profession so as to boost infrastructure development of Nigeria and innovations globally.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here