Buhari, Osinbajo begin second term


By Ayo Fadimu

President Muhammadu  Buhari  and Vice President, Professor  Yemi Osinbajo will begin their second term in office today. The duo will be sworn-in at the Eagles square.

The President, a former military president was first sworn-in in 2015 when he defeated the then president, Goodluck Jonathan in an historic presidential election. The President also defeated  the Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Alhaji Atiku Abubakar in the 2019 presidential election.

In an election that had a total of 73 candidates,  Buhari won 15,191,847 of the total votes cast while his closest opponent,  Atiku Abubakar, gained 11,262,978 votes, an astonishing victory margin of 3,928,869 votes. Felix Nicholas of the Peoples Coalition Party (PCP) came a distant third with a total of 110,196 votes.

As Buhari is being sworn in, thirty governors and their deputies will also be sworn in in 30 States across the country.

In Ogun State, the oil magnate, Prince Dapo Abiodun will succeed Senator Ibikunle Amosun.  Abiodun, had defeated Hon Abiodun Akinlade who was backed by Amosun in a fiercely contested governorship election.

In the Centre of Excellence, Babajide Sanwo-Olu takes over from Akinwunmi Ambode. Sanwo-Olu who defeated Jimi Agbaje succeeds Ambode who spent only one term before he was replaced by party members at the party’s primaries last year.

Some of the other governors to be sworn in are, Samuel Ortom, Benue State,  Abdulahi  Ganduje of Kano State,  Nyesom Wike of Rivers State, Simon Lalong of Plateau State, Ahmed Umar Fintiri of Adamawa State and Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State

In Bauchi, the former FCT Minister, Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed will be sworn in as the new governor,  while David Umahi  will be sworn in for his second term as the governor  of  Ebonyi State. The new governor that emerged in the last March governorship election in Gombe, Inuwa Yahaya will be sworn in alongside his deputy.

In Jigawa, Governor  Muhammad  Badaru  and his deputy would start the race of second tenure alongside Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State.

Other governors to be sworn in include Abubakar  Bello of  Niger State, Engr Seyi Makinde of Oyo State Emmanuel Udom in Akwa Ibom State, Prof. Ben Ayade in Cross  River and Mai Mala Buni in  Yobe  State

Others  governors are Ifeanyi Okowa Delta State, Prof. Babagana  Zulum, Borno  State, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai , Kaduna State, former Deputy Speaker of House of Representatives, Hon. Emeka  Ihedioha  will take the place of Owelle  Rochas Okorocha in Imo  State.

The remaining governors to be sworn in are Mohammed Badaru Jigawa, State, Abubakar Bello of  Niger  State,  Aminu  Masari Katsina State,  Darius Ishaku in Taraba State.  Atiku  Bagudu  who has just been elected as the Chairman of Progressives Governor Forum, will take his second oath of office in Kebbi State, The new governor of Kwara State, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq  and his counterpart in Nasarawa State, Abdullahi Sule and their deputies will also be sworn in, In Zamfara State, Bello  Matawalle; his deputy, Mahdi Aliyu Gusau; would be sworn in as Governor and Deputy governor respectively, as the Supreme court last Friday declared as waste, all the votes got by APC in the governorship election.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here