APC wins majority of House of Assembly seats in Osun

All Progressives Congress (APC)

The ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, has won 22 out of 26 state constituencies in Osun State, leaving the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, with 3 seats.

The remaining one was declared inconclusive.

According to the result made available to newsmen by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in Osogbo, the Osun State capital, the PDP won in Obokun, Ede North, and Ede South State constituencies, while that of Oriade was inconclusive. APC clinched the rest 22.

It would be recalled that the state governor on Saturday, through his Chief Press Secretary, Mr Adeniyi Adesina was quoted saying that his party, the APC would have majority in the state House of Assembly.

“Gov. Oyetola expressed confidence that the APC will get absolute majority in the House of Assembly.

“He said it was too early to describe turnout as poor, as he voted at about 10:30am in his hometown, Iragbiji in Boripe local government area.

“Oyetola said from available information at the time, the election was going on peacefully in the state”, the statement read.

Recall that the APC, in the last Presidential and National Assembly polls, won two out of the three senatorial districts in the state, and six Federal House of Representatives seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here