APC primaries: Akinade-Fijabi, Odebunmi get return tickets to NASS

Hon. Saheed Akinade-Fijabi

The duo of Hon. Saheed Akinade-Fijabi representing Ibadan North West/ Ibadan South West and Hon. Segun Dokun Odebunmi representing Oyo Oluwa/ Surulere have won their return tickets to the National Assembly for the third term.

Akinade-Fijabi whose journey to the green chamber started in 2011 defeated his close rival, Mr. Rotimi Ajanaku in a keenly contested primary election held at Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba Ibadan.

Akinade-Fijabi scored 299 votes to defeat Ajanaku who pulled 279 votes.

Odebunmi who was elected on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in 2011 before he later joined the ruling APC in 2017, on the other hand, was adopted as a consensus candidate by delegates from the two local government areas in the constituency at the primary election held in Ajaawa.

The duo are chairmen of committees in the National Assembly.

Odebunmi while speaking thanked the state Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi and the leadership of the All Progressives Congress for considering him worthy for the ticket.

He said the ticket and subsequent victory at the poll will afford him the opportunity to continue to give adequate representation at the National Assembly as well as empowering the constituents.

Odebunmi, while reiterating his commitment to the progress and victory of APC in 2019, however, expressed optimism that the party will record landslide victory in many states in 2019.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here