Ambode appoints ex-FIRS boss, Omoigui-Okauru, others For N25bn ETF board


Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode on Wednesday appointed a former Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Service, Mrs. Ifueko Omoigui-Okauru to head the Board of Trustees for the N25billion State Employment Trust Fund (ETF).


The Governor in a statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Mr. Habib Aruna, also approved the appointment of nine others to serve as members of the Board of Trustees of the ETF, which is geared towards addressing the challenge of youth unemployment as well as promote wealth creation through entrepreneurial development in the state.


Other members of the Board include Mr. Dele Martins, Mrs. Bilikis Adebiyi-Abiola, Mr. Otto Orondaam, Mrs. Olufunmi Olatunde Daudu, Mr. Tunde Bank-Anthony and Mr. Micheal Popoola Ajayi.


Governor Ambode also approved for the Commissioner for Wealth Creation, Mr. Tunde Durosinmi-Etti and his counterpart in Ministry of Finance, Dr. Mustapha Akinkunmi to be part of the Board, while Mr. Akintunde Oyebode is to serve as Executive Secretary of the Board.


The Employment Trust Fund, it would be recalled, was signed into law by Governor Ambode on Tuesday, according to him, was in line with keeping faith with the promise he made to the people during the electioneering campaign.


The Governor had expressed optimism that the Fund will address the challenge of unemployment and promote wealth creation through entrepreneurial development, adding that an annual contribution of N6.25billion will be injected into the Fund by the State Government for 4years totaling N25billion.


In a separate development, Governor Ambode, also inaugurated a new board of the Lagos State Law Reform Commission, restated the commitment of his administration to deepen democracy and rule of law especially by carrying out periodic review of obsolete laws in the State to bring them in tune with current realities for relevance and effectiveness.


The Governor said such periodic review was important especially to his administration in achieving the goal of creating an enabling environment for investors, entrepreneurs and making Lagos globally competitive.


While alluding to the fact that all modern and civilized societies thrive on the qualities of laws which regulate and guide the actions of government, organizations, individuals and institutions, Governor Ambode charged members of the Commission to hit the ground running by expediting action on the creation of electronic portal that is aimed at providing access to laws of the State online from anywhere in the world.


“This is a major project which the new Board has a responsibility to deliver in record time. It is very vital to the success of our drive to attract investors to our State,” Governor Ambode said.


Chairman of the newly inaugurated board is Professor Gbolahan Ellias (SAN), while members are Dr. Omogbai Omo-Eboh, Mr. Demola Sadiq and Mrs. Tola Akinsanya. The Executive Secretary is Mrs. Ade Adeyemo.


Speaking earlier at the inauguration, Lagos State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Adeniji Kazeem said the past board was inaugurated on March 12, 2012


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here