Akeem Bello, Idimogu, four other Lagos PDP lawmakers set to join APC


No fewer than six lawmakers on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Lagos State House of Assembly are set to join the All Progressives Congress (APC).

It was gathered that six of the eight lawmakers in the House have concluded plans to dump their party after several months of consultations and negotiations.

The members of the PDP in the Assembly include Minority Leader Hon. Akeem Bello (Amuwo Odofin y 2), Minority Whip Hon. Mosunmola Sangodara (Surulere 2), Hon. Dipo Olorunrinu (Amuwo Odofin 1) and Hon. Victor Akande (Ojo 1).

Others are Hon. Akeem Shokunle (Oshodi/Isolo 1), Hon. Jude Idimogu (Oshodi/Isolo 1), Hon. Dayo Famakinwa, (Ajeromi/ Ifelodun 2) and Hon. Oluwa Fatai (Ajeromi/Ifelodun 1).

The lawmakers are also complaining about the crisis in the party at the state and federal levels.

“I can confirm to you that six of the PDP lawmakers in the Lagos State House of Assembly will soon defect to the APC, but the status quo will remain as they would not want to stop holding their present positions in the House until further notice.

“What I know is that a lot of things are going on in the party and things would never remain the same,” The Nation quoted a source as saying.

Hon. Jude Idimogu could not confirm the defection but said “it is not an impossibility.”

“We have not defected yet. We are all still in the PDP to the best of my knowledge. I know there is crisis in the party, but we are yet to move. We are all still here. If we want to move, it will be done on the floor of the House or through a news conference,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here