ACF warns those behind Ganduje, Emir Sanusi rift to desist

390 Anthony Sani becomes ACF Sec Gen

Mouthpiece of Northern Nigeria, the Arewa Consultative Forum (ACF) has warned those fanning the ember of crisis between Kano State Governor, Alhaji Abdullahi Umar Ganduje and the Emir of Kano, Alhaji Muhammadu Sanusi II to desist.

ACF while commending the efforts of Northern States Governors Forum for the peace it brokered between the duo, urged that the agreement reached should be respected in the interest of peace and stability of Northern Nigeria.

The forum in a communique issued at the end of its joint meeting of the Board of Trustees and the National Executive Council said, “the attention of the leadership of Arewa Consultative Forum has been drawn to the simmering crisis between the Kano State Government and the Kano Emirate Council.

“However, ACF is aware of the peace initiative brokered by the Northern States Governors Forum (NSGF) in Kaduna and hope that the decisions taken would continue to be respected in the interest of peace and stability of the North and Nigeria in general.

“ACF urges all outside interest groups to desist from fanning the embers of discord”, it said.

The communiqué signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Muhammad Ibrahim Biu also revealed that the forum, now has a new Secretary General, Mr. Anthony N. Z Sani.

Anthony Sani who is a one time National Publicity Secretary of ACF is taking over from Col. John I. P Ubah, who resigned the position.

Meanwhile, Alhaji Ibrahim Ahmadu Coomassie, IGP rtd, has been reelected as the Chairman National Executive Committee of the forum.

According to the communiqué, “The Joint Meeting of the Board of Trustees and the National Executive Council of Arewa Consultative Forum under the Chairmanship of Alhaji Adamu M. Fika (Wazirin Fika), Chairman BOT, was held on the 10th of May, 2017,at the ACF Headquarters, No. 11A Sokoto Road, Kaduna.

“In attendance were the Chairman NEC, Alhaji Ibrahim A. Coomassie, IGP rtd, GCON, mni, Sardauna Katsina, Deputy Chairman BOT, AVM Mukhtar Mohammed Wazirin Dutse, Lt. Gen MI Wushishi rtd),and other members of both the BOT and NEC from the 19 Northern States and Abuja.

“The meeting received and adopted the report of the 2017 Leadership Selection Committee for officials of the National Working Committee of NEC. The recommendations of the Committee were discussed and accepted as follows;

“The re-election of the Chairman NEC, IGP Ibrahim A. Coomassie and all other members of the National Working Committee for another tenure of three 3 years. The acceptance of resignation letter of Col JIP Ubah, rtd, as the Secretary General of the Forum. The election of Mr. Anthony N. Z. Sani as the new Secretary General of the Forum.

“Others are: the election of Brig. Gen Sen. John Shagaya as Vice-Chairman of the BOT. That henceforth the practice of restricting recruitment of leaders to specific geo-political zones be discontinued in respect of the Chairman of BOT, Chairman of NEC and Secretary General. It shall now be opened to all interested persons from the North. However, for the lower level leadership positions of both the BOT and the NWC, they should continue to be distributed to the geo-political zones on rotational basis.

“The tenure of all officials in the NEC shall run for only one single term of three (3) years. The tenure of the leadership of the BOT shall run for only one single term of four (4) years. The meeting reaffirmed its belief in the unity of the North and the peaceful coexistence of its people.

“Towards this end, the forum appeals to all Nigerians to come to terms with the reality that the current socio-economic challenges the nation is passing through are not beyond redemption and can become history under purposeful leadership”, the communiqué read.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here