9th Senate Presidency: Lawan crushes Ndume


By Moses Adeniyi

Senator Ahmed Lawan of the All Progressives Congress, APC representing Yobe North has defeated his major rival, Senator elect Ali Ndume (APC Bornu South) in the hot contest of the Senate presidency seat.

Lawan who was endorsed by President Muhammadu Buhari and his party polled 79 votes to emerge as the President of the 9th National Assembly (NASS) Senate as against 28 votes garnered by Ndume.

The election which took place in the red chamber was conducted on a secret ballot voting system with senators elect matching forward to cast their vote at the calling of their names by the Clerk.

According to the Clerk who presided over the voting, 107 of the 109 senators elect were present with two absentees.

A strong indication of the possibility of Ahmed emerging as the winner of the contest had enveloped the atmosphere with a persistently cheers by majority of the seated senators elect expressing their support with clapping when it was the turn of Lawan to cast his vote.

After Lawan was declared as the winner of the contest, he took the oath of office while he was congratulated by supporters and colleagues in the red chamber.

Meanwhile Senator Ovie Omo-Agege has defeated Senator Ike Ikweremadu to emerge as the Debuty Senate President of the 9th National Assembly.

Omo-Agege representing Delta Central Senatorial District polled 68 votes to retire Ekweremadu who served as the Deputy Senate President of 8th National Assembly. In the election, Ikweremadu garnered 37 votes out of a total of 105 vote cast. One member abstained while one vote was rendered invalid.

Details later


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here