2023 should be payback time for Tinubu as president –Northeast youth group


Rukayat Akanbi, Bauchi

A group of youths in the North, called Tinubu North Eastern Youth Mobilisation Congress has said that the former Governor of Lagos, Bola Tinubu and a political mentor in the country should be compensated with the party’s ticket in the next presidential election.

The group of youth has said that it is supporting shifting of power to the southern part of the country in the next general election in 2023.

The organised youths made the call in a press release issued by its Coordinator Honourable, Aliyu Balewa in Bauchi during the weekend. It said: “On justice ground, power should be shifted to the southern part of the country in 2023 since the north has served two consecutive terms.

“We believe that the best person to succeed Buhari is the APC national leader Bola Tinubu because he has been instrumental to Buhari’s victory in 2015 and 2019 elections. He also contributed tremendously to the success of the APC in all other elective offices.

According to them, former Governor of Lagos, Bola Tinubu “as a political mentor in the country who had contributed immensely to the victory of the APC and President Muhammadu Buhari in the 2015 and 2019 polls should be compensated with the party’s ticket in the next presidential election.

“Therefore, 2023 should be a payback time. Let us respect the gentleman agreement by supporting the south to produce the next president. And Bola Tinubu is the best man for the job in view of his political experience, dexterity, exposure and national patriotism,” Balewa said.

The group believed that Tinunbu is a “true nationalist that can unite the compatriots if elected president in 2023 claiming that when he was a governor, he was unbiased and had appointed people from other states in his cabinet.”

Balewa explained that the objective of the group is to promote friendship and goodwill among Nigerian politicians so that there will be sustainable peace and development.

The statement mentioned the newly inaugurated officials of the group to include; Honourable Aliyu H. Balewa- Coordinator, Muhammad Ibrahim Bukar- Secretary, Umar Salisu Alhaji- Treasurer, Abdullahi Ya’u Mai Fure- Publicity Secretary, M.A Almustapha- Organizing Secretary, Barrister Anas Abubakar- Legal Adviser and Abdulrashid Haruna Gombe is the Auditor of the congress.

The rest are; Abubakar Usman Garba- Welfare Secretary, Aliyu Midibbo Raji- Youth leader, Hajiya Binta Bolari- Women leader, Malam Tanko Abubakar- Disabled leader and Al’amin Abdullahi Ahmad is the Director Information Communication Technology.

While the states coordinators are; Ubaidullahi Mohammed- Bauchi, Haruna Baushe Gombe- Gombe, Aliyu Mohammed-Adamawa, Muhammad Tijjani- Borno, Honourable Salisu Bala Mohammed- Taraba and Honourable Musa Babagana Potiskum- Yobe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here