2018: Year of political battles


By Dare Adisa

The year 2018 will be a major decider in Nigeria politics and among Nigeria politicians as many political allies will turn to foe in the event of who carry the day in the selection and appointment of candidates to view for political positions among various political parties.

Among many aspiring politicians some will feel dejected at the primary, while few will seek consolation in a rival political party to achieve their aims.

Ekiti and Osun governorship Election

Days count to the expiration of two prominent Governors in the South west, Mr Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti and Rauf Aregbesola and Osun State. There are agitations among followers and allies of the incumbent of who becomes the next governor.

Recently, INEC fixed Ekiti governorship election for July 14, 2018 and Osun’s election fixed for September 22 while the tenure of the Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose; and his Osun State counterpart, Rauf Aregbesola, will expire on October 15 and November 26, 2018 respectively.

Governor Fayose has endorsed his deputy, Olusola Kolapo, as his successor on the banner of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the state despite criticism from his fellow party members.

In the camp of the All progressive Congress,(APC)  a number of aspirants have indicated their interest in clinching the party ticket among whom are Dr, Segun Oni, Minister of Solid Mineral Dr Kayode Fayemi, Special Adviser to the President on Political Matters Babafemi Ojudu among others.

Nigerian NewsDirect gathered that Ayodele Fayose is leaving no stone unturned to see to the party and his candidate claiming the governorship seat in 2018.

Osun state election will be a major contender for APC and PDP as the workers in the state are not happy with the current state governor over his inability to pay salary which eventually lead to strike among the workforce as they clamored for a Labour friendly governor.

Following the turns of event, Osun West Senatorial District has been favoured to pick the govenorship ticket, after the duo of Chief Bisi Akande and Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola from Osun Central served as governors of the state between 1999 and 2010.

The Osun East Senatorial District produced the incumbent, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola through a ruling of an appeal court sitting in Ibadan, Oyo State on November 26, 2010.

APC, PDP Presidential ticket: Who wears the crown?

The decision of former Vice President of Nigeria, Atiku Abubakar to clinch the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) ticket for presidency slot might come with a resistance following the decision of former Kaduna State Governor Senator Ahmed Makarfi, to also contest which will be battle line among the two political bigwigs.

Also, interested in the party ticket is former Jigawa state governor Sule Lamido, and former governors Ibrahim Shekarau of Kano and Sokoto State, Attahiru Bafarawa respectively.

In the All Progressives Congress (APC), most party leaders have given their nod for President Muhammadu Buhari to take a shot at second term even though he has yet to declare his intention. Some prominent leaders in the ruling party are also eyeing the presidency once the indication is clear that Mr. President is not gunning for second term.

Among whom are Senate President Bukola Saraki, Senator Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State, Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna State, State and Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here