55 traditional rulers appointed under Amosun – Ojuko


Bankole Taiwo, Abeokuta

Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Chief Jide Ojuko said the state government has appointed nothing less than 55 new traditional rulers since Gov. Ibikunle Amosun assumed office in the last eight years for the smooth administration of various communities and towns.


Chief Jide Ojuko stated this while appearing before members of the state assembly on Tuesday during the on going 2019 budget appraisal presided over by Hon Victor Fasanya, Chairman, House Committee on Finance.


According to a statement from Mr Jamiu Lawal, Press Officer for the state assembly, Ojuko who was represented by the Director of Chieftaincy Affairs in the Ministry, Mr Dolapo Adewunmi, said the ministry equally promoted 16 Part II Obas to first class status, while 28 coronet Obas were promoted to a Part II status.


He added that nine of the newly installed Obas were upgraded from the status of Baale to the position of Obas and four Quarters Chiefs were upgraded to Coronet Obas.


Meanwhile Ogun State Traffic Compliance and Enforcement Corps (TRACE) says it has generated N10.53m representing 30.10% in the first quarter of this fiscal year from various road charges, having established additional divisional commands across the three Senatorial districts.


The Corps Commander, ‘Seni Ogunyemi  said this while he took turn to appear before the State House of Assembly at the on-going 2019 Budget appraisal.


Ogunyemi remarked that the corps had devised and implemented plans towards drastic reduction in road traffic crashes, this according to him included clearing of over 57, 000 obstructions, public enlightenment, road traffic research and the establishment of an online platform to report operational duties amongst others.


He added that arrangements were in place to institutionalize TRACE Academy/ Institute of Road Traffic Management in conjunction with Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), Ago-Iwoye as well as community based traffic management scheme to enlist public participation in road traffic and safety matters.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here